Collage Retrospective 2012: Alexander McQueen

Yesterday I mentioned that I really ought to do a McQueen collage retrospective for this year and I ended up deciding to go for it. Dior, Givenchy, Dolce & Gabbana, and Armani all deserve honorable mentions, but Alexander McQueen was easily my most-used fashion icon this year. One piece (“Back in the Forest”) features McQueen-era work, while all the rest are from Sarah Burton’s amazing run at the helm. I think she’s done wonders with the house and can’t wait to see what she comes up with next.

The last collage in the series (bottom right corner) hasn’t been posted about yet, I made it so recently I still need to write it up in its own post, but I didn’t want to delay the retrospectives. Like ever year, 2013 will start with me finishing up lingering threads from the past year. Still, if it means I’m getting collages done, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

~ Brigitte

Leave a Reply

