ATC #1278 Mary Katrantzou 3

ATC 1278 Mary Katrantzou 3

Title: Mary Katrantzou 3
Size: 2.5″ x 3.5″
Status: Not Available

After I scanned this collage I went back through this years’ work to see what number this was in the Mary Katrantzou series. I was utterly shocked that I hadn’t made a Katrantzou collage since 2011! It was made very late in 2011 too, which means it has pretty much been an entire year since I last worked with one of her designs in a collage. I guess I’m so surprised because I’d rank her right behind McQueen on my list of favorite fashion designers; maybe she doesn’t get as much press coverage?

Mary Katrantzou Fall 2011

This piece is from her Fall 2011 ready-to-wear collection, which seems to be the only collection that fashion editors will admit existed. Don’t get me wrong, it’s gorgeous, and her most recent stamp collection was not my speed, but I would love to see more of her work printed in the glossies. The only reason that I don’t have more Katrantzou collages in my collection than McQueen is only because she doesn’t show up as often. Still, when she does, I’m delighted.

The ATC background is from Marie Claire December 2012, an article on aging I believe, and the jewels are amethyst, Le Vian “cotton candy” amethyst or some other nonsense name, taken from an advert in the same issue. Look Le Vian, just because the color is off doesn’t make it more specialer.

~ Brigitte

Leave a Reply

