Red Star, Black Eye: New Work by Josh (Shag) Agle

Josh “SHAG” Agle is having an opening tonight at Rotofugi for his ominously titled “Red Star, Black Eye” Show; his work never fails to impress. I fell in love with SHAG years ago (my first print was “Mr. Lucky” to give you an idea of the time frame) and it’s really struck me how dark his work has been getting lately. Above you can see “The Boring Beetle” (above) and “Lodge Brothers” (below), which I think illustrate what I mean.

Nonetheless, Agle’s works retain the gorgeous use of color, retro flare, and beautifully distinct style that is, in the end, what I love about the SHAG-iverse so much. Oh and I just thought of this “from tiki to freaky” line that I was going to work in, but it’s so dumb I can’t do it seriously … but there it is anyway … sigh …

One thought on “Red Star, Black Eye: New Work by Josh (Shag) Agle

Leave a Reply

