Hors de Prix (Priceless)

I have to admit I was more than a little nervous when I started watching “Hors de Prix” aka “Priceless” (2006) since French romantic comedies are known (to me at least) for allowing their main characters to end up, well, not together … but this movie was so wonderful I (clearly) ended up having to write about it. The movie was funny and charming and so much better than the sicky-sweet formulaic rom/coms that I’m more than used to (I’m looking in your direction “Made of Honor,” cough).

Basically “Priceless” follows gold digger Irène (Audrey Tautou) who seduces Jean (Gad Elmaleh) thinking that he’s fabulously rich, only to realize that he’s poor about 10 minutes after being dumped by her sugar daddy. To punish Jean’s unrelenting affection she blows through his life savings in roughly 24 hours, leaving him stranded at their hotel, about to be turned in to the police, when he himself gets picked up by a rich older woman. Irène and Jean then both find themselves in the pocketbooks of older people, neighbors in the same hotel, and the become friends and quasi-co-conspirators as the movie goes on.

I really loved it, “Priceless” was like “Pretty Woman” if “Pretty Woman” was actually good … and French … and fun to watch. Okay, fine, it wasn’t like “Pretty Woman” at all, but I really loved it (“Priceless,” I mean) so there you have it.

If you have Netfix you can find it here and it’s instant watch (for now at least) which is always a plus.

~ Brigitte

Leave a Reply

