Disassembled in the Studio

         

Camilla d’Errico has wonderfully posted about the “Disassembled Tears” Zombuki Pullip on her blog today! I’m honored that she wrote about her and, since she’s been under wraps this whole time, all of her progress photos are above. Working on her was a joy, I was first inspired to make a Zombuki based on her a while ago, but I couldn’t figure out her design until one night I had a dream about it. I woke up and sketched gears again and again (poorly) until I got them right and then started her straight away!

Her eyes are cast in resin by me, she has blushing in peach and sky blue, tones in the original work, and has a smaller Obitsu body (23cm) since I felt like that spoke more to her original android incarnation. I feel like, in a way, every Zombuki is a reincarnation, but this is especially true here. The heartache in the original work is that the android girl is discarded and has her pain mocked as she falls apart – something that, sadly, I’m sure a lot of us can identify with. For the Zombuki version I wanted to take that same android girl and give her life and vitality and limbs; whether she exists in a world before, after, or parallel to d’Errico’s is entirely up to you …

Her lovely patron, who contacted me shortly after the original post, has suggested that I named her Naycelle, which I have adopted …

The first set of formal photos of Naycelle will be up tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Disassembled in the Studio

  1. Brigitte I love Naycelle! She is indeed a beautiful reincarnation and interpretation of the android in my image. Ah heartache!!! I know we’ve all been there.

    I’ve loved seeing the behind the scenes progress photos of your skilled hands at work!

Leave a Reply

