December 2010 Goals

Wow, can you believe I haven’t written a goals post since April? Man, I feel like I was just in a total slack-storm for most of the year, looking back I am not happy about a lot of it. So I picked up a book to help re-inspire me, The Handmade Marketplace by Kari Chapin. Funny isn’t it? I’ve had businesses since I was a kid and opened my original Etsy shop over four years ago, but I did it all with random advice scraps and trial-and-error. I felt so unfocused lately I felt like I should go back to basics and wanted the help of some kind of book. So far it’s been pretty good, I’ll review it when I’m finished though, of course. If you have any recommendations for others like it please feel free to leave suggestions in the comments. Publishing my personal and professions goals list every month was one thing I did that really helped keep me motivated though, so it’s making a year-end comeback!

  • Finish holiday shopping without buying anything for myself
  • Restock Shanalogic and make new necklace design
  • Add wholesale info and stockist lists page to blog
  • Add press page to the blog
  • Figure out branding direction for my lines
  • Add shipping policies page to blog
  • List Valentines Day items in shops

It’s a short list but the last item “figure out branding direction for my lines” is a big deal for me. On this blog you know everything that I do, but the Zombuki and my jewelry are largely separate from each other, then there’s the collages, painting, kokeshi, zines, and every other thing I do. Basically I do a lot of different stuff, some of them art, some of them craft, and many in between. I need to figure out where I’m going with them all, what I’m doing, and how I want to market them all. I plan on blogging about the process because, honestly, it’s really confusing me. I’m so eclectic I have no idea what to do with all these things and the best thing for me is thinking out loud. Wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “December 2010 Goals

  1. I just finished that book several weeks ago… I was very inspired by it! It was short and sweet, but did leave me wanting a little more detail. I hope it offers you as much inspiration as it did for me! :)

    • Thanks for your comment! I agree, there wasn’t a whole lot of detail so far, but I haven’t minded too much since I already have a legal business set up and know how to take photos, but I can see people really wanting more advice in both of those sections, for sure.

  2. I know how you feel about being unfocused. Right now I’m just trying to get through the holidays myself, and get my office cleaned so I can start the new year out right.
    Best of Luck to you.

Leave a Reply

