Neighbor Hate Zine

Neighbor Hate Zine by Me

It went a little something like this. You all already know about my hate/hate relationship with my neighbor … well, night before last I was sleeping when I suddenly awoke to the sound of her door being slammed over and over again. After about six slams I wasn’t getting back to sleep so I looked out the window and she was carrying things to her car … with gusto. Around 3 AM her boyfriend showed up (which is always when he shows up and he’s always gone by 9 AM) and then, from what I heard, they swept all of the pots and pans off the kitchen counter onto the floor. They then settled in to watch TV behind my head and laugh uproariously, probably at my pain, I can’t be sure.

I used to be a sound sleeper. I am no longer that thing. Now when I wake up I have a really hard time getting back to sleep and it causes me a sadness so powerful that it verges on physical pain. This time, after an hour of trying to get to sleep mid-clamor, I grabbed my sketchbook and wrote a comic about how much I hated my neighbor. The next day (yesterday) I drove to Office Depot and photocopied it while being harassed by some middle aged dude because I was using the “best” copier at my local Office Depot. Apparently, I got lucky by picking the best one out of the three they had and he was not about to let me use it undisturbed. Must be hard when you’re the most important person in the world but only you know it, eh?

Update: Links removed because this zine is no longer available.

Leave a Reply

