Xmas Eve 2010

Hey all! It’s Xmas Eve! I thought I’d stop in because I, like most of us, won’t be on teh interwebs much for the next few days. I have a ton of visits in the next few days, in fact I’ll be doing between 4 and 5 Xmas visits this year … a new record! I think there was only one other year when I did the proverbial four Christmases. Last night I went to my bff Karlen’s family Swedish traditional dinner night, which was really fun. I forgot how much fun the holidays were with friends (Karlen’s family is unusually wonderful and I love them all), family seems to complicate it because there’s either a significant other (which adds two extra visits and a lot of performance) or there’s not one and it’s lonely.

Boyfriend and I are both dreading the family marathon. I let him out of visiting my Mom and I might bail on visiting his dad. The schedule for Xmas Day is actually (no lie):

10 AM – 11 AM Driving
11  AM – 2 PM Mom’s House
2 PM – 3 PM Driving
3 PM – 3:30 PM Break
3:30 PM – 4 PM Driving w/ Boyfriend
4 PM – 6 PM Boyfriend’s Mom’s House
6 PM – 6:30 PM Driving w/ Boyfriend
6:30 PM – 8:30 PM Boyfriend’s Dad’s House
8:30 PM Driving w/ Boyfriend
9 PM Home to Regret the Collapse of the American Family

Hey jerks, you should have stayed married! Seriously though, that’s an 11 hour day with 3.5 hours of driving in it. Would you wish that on your worst enemy? Not to mention that at least part of it is going to entail be cramming down ham, the devil’s meat, and trying not to think about how it tastes like salty, squishy, human flesh. Bleck! The horror!!

Boyfriend and I decided to exchange Xmas gifts last night while we were still in the holiday spirit. He got me Vivia Pinata 2 (eeee!) and I got him 3 of the Futurama blind box figures. I decided to go blind box because Bender loose (the character he loves best) costs as much as three boxes, so I just decided to throw caution to the wind and … Xmas miracle! He got Bender! Yay! He also got Fry (meh) and the Robot Devil (sweet) so it was pretty awesome, hehe. They’re in front of the TV as we blog.

Anyway, wish me luck and I hope you have a pain-free holiday! I’ll be back as soon as I can!

2 thoughts on “Xmas Eve 2010

  1. I feel your pain! My husband’s parents have been separating in the nastiest possible way for the last 2 years. Thanksgiving was the first real 3 house holiday for us. No more! At least yours seem to be relatively close together, I have to drive 3.5 hours for the joy of hanging out with the mother-in-law.

    Ps- Great blind-box-fu!

    • Never again is right! I would totally risk the relationship ending if I had to drive that much to spend time with an in-law! LOL Yes though, I don’t think I’ll be doing it again, I love the holidays but not like this. Why should everyone else get to stay comfy and warm in their homes while boyfriend and I drive all over creation? Not happening! ;D

      Also thank you! I was really surprised/excited that he pulled such good blind boxes!

Leave a Reply

