Resin Rainbow and Rambling

Now that the weather is finally nice again I decided to go back into the studio and cast resin for the first time in months. I bought some resin over winter because I had all these 40% off coupons at Michael’s, but being exposed to the extreme cold of my house (extreme for resin) actually completely ruined at least one box of the stuff. The hardener seemed to make it out unscathed, but the resin turned super yellow, it was pretty sick looking (the bad kind of sick). I might use some opaque dye on it or at least experiment more with opaque dye, since the resin isn’t going to be used in anything clear, obviously. I have one last unopened box and I’m kind of dreading what’s inside!

I didn’t make too many things during my return to the resin studio, which only last three days mind you, but I did make a set of rainbow jewel pendant and ring pairs. The molds I used were not super reusable so they’re in the trash now, which means each set is going to be one of a kind. White background photos look so professional, but I think I’d rather photograph these on sheets of glitter. I mean, they’re kind of too fun not to!

In other news, I’m planning on (hopefully) catching up with all my pending orders today (some of them have been pending for way too long) so I can veg out sans guilt with Pokemon all day tomorrow. Whee! I cannot wait. I’m going to end up getting Pokemon White since it has some kind of enchanted forest level while Black has some dark city, I’m just not a dark city kind of girl … enchanted forest ftw!

Have a good Saturday y’all!

4 thoughts on “Resin Rainbow and Rambling

  1. Having played both Black and White.. Black City and White Forest are exactly the same and there’s nothing enchanted (or dark) about either of them. But Pokemon Black does have the uglier mascot.

Leave a Reply

