Studio: The Most Hideous Byul in the World

Okay so maybe I was being slightly hyperbolic with the title, but when my friend asked me to customize a Lilith for her I nearly fainted; not when she asked so much as when the doll actually arrived. Lilith is the only Byul that I absolutely hated, with her creepy mouth and faux animal eyes which are just objectionable in quality (look, it’s an animal pupil painted over a normal pupil, arg!) … anyway. I held onto her for nearly a year and when I took her out I realized a few very important things: first, the eyebrows are pretty fierce, also, the outlined eyelashes on top of the eye are actually gorgeous, but most importantly of all is skin tone is stunning. With some tweaks Lilith is actually a very lovely doll – severe, but lovely.

If you’ve been following my work for any period of time (snerk) you’ll know that I’m a skin tone junkie. Any kind of rich or unusual skin tone I go wild for, and Lilith, like the much-lauded (by me) Marianne, has a totally unique color to her. It’s not the photo, Lilith is actually gray. Swoon! Like Ala, Lilith’s “smokey” makeup was a beast to remove (it took about an hour), but it was worth it. As an homage to Lilith I painted her in mostly black and gray with splashes of lavender. She still needs eyes and a wig, but I’m working on it. I’ve never used to much black (or gray) on a custom and I’m really happy with it!

Wish me luck!

~ Brigitte

One thought on “Studio: The Most Hideous Byul in the World

Leave a Reply

