ATC #1117 Island of the Pink Dolphin

Title: Island of the Pink Dolphin
Size: 2.5″ x 3.5″
Status: Not Available

This is probably one of my favorite ATCs I made this year, in part just because of the colors, I love the nearly monochrome pink, but with the pops of blue. The background, which you can only see in the upper, left hand corner, is a Martha Stewart paint chip from Home Depot that’s been cut down to the appropriate size. Usually I use archival board for collages, but I really love paint chips. I have a few others, but I’m not sure if or when I’ll use them.

The pink dolphin is a clutch purse and it’s the Judith Leiber Dolphin Minaudiere that lots of people you don’t know have been talking about, I’m actually surprised I didn’t see it in more editorials this year. Perhaps a $4,995 hand bedazzled ocean mammal purse wasn’t as popular as I would have assumed … wait, that’s crazy talk, of course it’s popular. Shall we see it close up?

Sparkle on, you crazy accessory! I actually think it’s terribly clever and it makes me smile, it’s an illustration of how fashion goes right up to the line between it and tacky and then just razzes it. The blue lip shaped ring I can’t find, but I love it, and I actually have been seeing it pop up all over the place. Do let me know if you have intel on it.

The name of the collage is a play off of Island of the Blue Dolphins, a children’s book I read in the 4th grade. I loved it at the time, but now wish that it hadn’t ended in such a horrible way. Basically a girl learns how to take care of herself in the wild and befriends animals, but ends up being taken away by Westerners, stuffed in a dress, and taken away to “civilization.” What a horror story. I guess it’s good I blocked that out and just remember the animal and shelter building stuff. I don’t think the ending was a commentary on colonization, women, or abduction, but who knows, I’m sure not going to re-read it. In my head it ends with her living out her golden years hunting alongside a pack of wolves she raises from pups.

The end!

~ Brigitte

Leave a Reply

