ATC #1202 Lovers Come and Go

Title: Lovers Come and Go
Size: 2.5″ x 3.5″
Status: Traded

“Lovers come and go, but friends are always there,” not really a fortune, more like advice, though I suppose it’s not bad advice. This ATC was made for the Oriental ATC swap on Swap-Bot. While I’m still not comfortable with the term “Oriental” it seems to be used more often lately without negative connotation. The prompt specifically mentions Japanese writing, but I decided to use a combination of stereotypical Chinese (fortune cookie) and Japanese (washi paper) elements as my jumping off point. It’s more like a Galentine’s Day card, really, and reminds me of this bizarre greeting card a friend got me in High School of a water color and kanji translated (I’m not sure how well) as “Your raggedness makes me silky.” I hope I still have it around here somewhere.

~ Brigitte

Leave a Reply

