Collage Block #1 Laughing Medusa

Title: Laughing Medusa
Size: 2″ x 3.25″ x 1″
Status: Unavailable

“Laughing Medusa” was my first finished collage block and featured shredded snake skin handbags surrounding a woman’s face. I named it after Helene Cixous’ “The Laugh of the Medusa,” which I read years ago and it has stayed with me ever since. This quote especially: “You only have to look at the Medusa straight on to see her. And she’s not deadly. She’s beautiful and she’s laughing.” It’s one of those quotes always in my head when I’m making things so the laughing Medusa comes up over and over again for me. Unfortunately since it was one of my first collage blocks I didn’t really know how to make it and the paper ended up getting very puckered and, ultimately, could not be salvaged.

~ Brigitte

Leave a Reply

