ATC #1205 Marilyn Monroe

Title: Marilyn Monroe
Size: 2.5″ x 3.5″
Status: Traded

This ATC was made for a one-on-one swap for someone who liked my Fanny Brice card but asked for it after it had already been adopted. I said I would do something with a similar retro vibe but instead of sepia I went with black and white. The picture on the left is a peacock and Marilyn is on the right, obviously. This photo was taken of her in 1957, I think? I really like Monroe, more actually after I named my rat after her, she (my rat) was an angel. Human Monroe was so goofy in “How to Marry a Millionaire” and I love “Gentlemen Prefer Blondes,” even if I am more of the quirky friend than the starlet. I actually read something about that movie as an example of transitional feminism and I keep wanting to write down my thoughts about it, but I never do. Hopefully I will some time! If anyone knows of any good articles about that point me to them, won’t you?

~ Brigitte

Leave a Reply

