ATC #1213 In the Forest in my Head

Title: In the Forest in my Head
Size: 2.5″ x 3.5″
Status: Adopted

Strange to say, but this collage is oddly personal, so much so that I’m not really sure how to go into it. So much for vagaries though, I will say this, I believe the birds are Darwin’s finches. By that I mean his actual finches, though I’ve had the birds cut out for so long I can’t remember anymore. I had this phase I went through where I hated having full pages torn out for one small photo, so I cut a bunch of things out. Unfortunately now that means I have bundles of things that I can’t properly identify, which irritates me. Oops!

Regardless, when ever I see birds like this I think about my brief stint doing taxidermy for the Dayton Museum of Natural History. This kind of taxidermy was exactly that I did, helping my aunt go through the donations (because apparently when people find dead animals a lot of times they give them to natural history museums?), stuffing them, tagging them, and then adding them to the archives. I have surprisingly fond memories of working on these birds and going into the shockingly cold specimen room, which I fell asleep in once (a story for another time), and adding my work to the drawers. My aunt told me that almost no one ever saw the specimen room, but that researchers would use it to study things like evolution and migration. I always got the feeling I was doing something really important there and, of course, this is where my love of taxidermy comes from.

What a long story! If you want to add this ATC to your collection it is available, just drop me a line or leave a comment and I will send it out to you.

~ Brigitte

Leave a Reply

