ATC #1215 The Strange and Seductive Ways of Mermaids

Title: The Strange and Seductive Ways of Mermaids
Size: 2.5″ x 3.5″
Status: Swapped

I signed up for a Mermaid ATC swap on Swap-Bot and ended up being banned because of my rating (long story), but then the swap coordinator offered to do a one-on-one swap with me to help me rebuild it. The mermaid drawing is from an encyclopedia that I cut up about 15 years ago and is probably one of the oldest pieces still in my collage stash. I actually had the full, woefully outdated set of books when my Dad announced we were moving into a much smaller house and I had to jettison a bunch of stuff. My solution was so go through all the encyclopedias and tear out the pages with the best illustrations; only a few pages are left. This mermaid is an illustration that Arthur Rackham did for an edition of “A Midsummer Night’s Dream,” which I absolutely love, and the caption on the page read “Strange and seductive ways of mermaids,” hence the title. The background of the rather eerie looking beach and ocean was from a catalog that I cut apart, but I’m not sure which one anymore. I think it adds a creepiness that hopefully evokes Sirens (which I prefer) more than mermaids. I hope my partner likes it!

~ Brigitte

2 thoughts on “ATC #1215 The Strange and Seductive Ways of Mermaids

Leave a Reply

