ATC #1216 Hera

Title: Hera
Size: 2.5″ x 3.5″
Status: Swapped

I had been meaning to make this ATC for a while, ever since I found the peacock image, actually. I’m also planning on doing a series of mythology theme ATC swaps on Swap-Bot, of which the Hera swap is the first. Hera always got kind of a bum rap in mythology I think, she’s always the “wife of Zeus” or the “goddess of marriage,” and when she tried to pull an Athena and show up Zeus she ended up with Hephaestus. I mean it worked out alright, but still, you know the Olympians made fun of her for it. Plus she keeps entering into “men vs women” contests with Zeus and losing, not to mention the whole “I’m prettier than Aphrodite, right?” debacle, how discouraging! Come to think of it, I can’t remember a contest that she’s won. Well, hang tough, Hera.

The major icons that Hera is associated with are pomegranates, cows/cattle, and peacocks. You better believe I tried to find a workable cow image to use as the background, but alas, none was to be found. I had a peacock feather background, but it ended up looking really overwhelming. The dress in the center is Alexander McQueen, I figured the white was at least a nod to the “marriage” aspect of Hera, and I used part of the page the peacock was on as the background.

What myth to collage of next?

~ Brigitte

2 thoughts on “ATC #1216 Hera

    • I decided to take a break from them for a little while, but I haven’t formally decided to stop making them per se, I just needed some time off to work on other things.

Leave a Reply

