ATC #1220 Moments in Love: Batman and Catwoman

Title: Moments in Love: Batman and Catwoman
Size: 2.5″ x 3.5″
Status: Not Available

I decided to continue my “Moments is Love” series with an ode to that classical, star-crossed romance of yore; I speak of course of Batman and Catwoman! The catsuit here is the insane, stunning one designed by Dolce & Gabbana and photographed for Vogue. I’m not sure when the original spread appeared but this image was reprinted, smaller, in the January 2012 issue. The bat I’ve had forever and I’m not sure where it came from, either Smithsonian or National Geographic, I’m sure. When I was looking for bats to go with Catwoman I came across this one, which was flying over water (the top bat is a reflection) and it struck me how much the bat was posed almost exactly like Catwoman. I decided to make the ATC pretty simple since the images have so much impact on their own.

Catwoman is my second favorite Batman character (Poison Ivy all the way) and I absolutely loved the Michele Pheiffer version of her, every time I see her drop into that alley and scratch the face off that rapist I let out an audible, “Yeah!” and try to high five something. I would love to see a super stylized couture Catwoman who could rock the D&G catsuit and steals the Contra Mundum from Daphne Guinness who unleashes an army of henchmen in suits who try to get it back. I mean, it makes total sense in my head.

I also found the full-page version of the D&G catsuit, which you can click to view larger. Amazing, right? I inadvertently covered up the structured hips, which are one of the main design elements, in my collage. Oops! I guess I got a little to fixated on trying to get the bat’s little claws in the same position as the model’s hands. Life and learn, I suppose! Wow, so many supplemental photos this time! Hope you enjoyed them.

~ Brigitte

Leave a Reply

