ATC #1126 A Troubled Girl of Stone

Title: A Troubled Girl of Stone
Size: 2.5″ x 3.5″
Status: Not Available

This collage ATC is the last one from 2011 that I needed to blog about, I just realized that it was already well into February so I didn’t want to wait any longer to post it. It is the second ATC I made using a paint chip and I ended up being extremely pleased with how it came out. In fact, I think it’s probably my favorite collage that I made in 2011. The yellow and purple plate is Versace and the statue is from an advertisement for Fendi. The name comes from mythology, while I was making this collage I was thinking of the story in Ovid’s “Metamorphoses” wherein Pygmalion falls in love with a statue he has created. After praying to Venus to statue comes to life and they eventually have a child together. The way the statue’s face is turned away got me to thinking about the statue’s side on all of this and the feminist perspective in general. To be created as the “perfect” woman and then have to life up to it? Probably not the best position to be in.

~ Brigitte

2 thoughts on “ATC #1126 A Troubled Girl of Stone

Leave a Reply

