ATC #1222 Rag & Bone

Title: Rag & Bone
Size: 2.5″ x 3.5″
Status: Swapped

Last weekend when I visited my mom we went to the grocery and I stumbled upon Runway Magazine. The issue had a bunch of the Fall 2011 ready to wear and couture collections in it so I snapped it up right away. However, when I went online to subscribe, I got a message saying that they’re “restructuring” the magazine, and I couldn’t sign up. Now I’m worried that this is the only issue I’ll ever own. Better enjoy it while it lasts!

This ATC was made for the Fashion ATC Swap #4 that I’m hosting, they’ve become a pretty regular thing at this point, which makes me happy. It’s a little hard to tell, but the background is actually a skull, it came from the same page as the skull at the bottom of “Topaz.” The stamps are from Precious Owl on Etsy and the Japanese at the bottom is from the Sailor Moon envelope used in the Sailor Moon ATC. The runway photos are from Rag & Bone, whose name I absolutely love because it reminds me of the poem “The Circus Animals Desertion” by W. B. Yeats. The third section:

Those masterful images because complete
Grew in pure mind, but out of what began?
A mound of refuse or the sweepings of a street,
Old kettles, old bottles, and a broken can,
Old iron, old bones, old rags, that raving slut
Who keeps the till. Now that my ladder’s gone,
I must lie down where all the ladders start
In the foul rag and bone shop of the heart.

I hope whomever gets this ATC ends up liking it, if they don’t, here’s hoping it doesn’t go in the trash! It’s something I worry about from time to time, I hope that if I send someone a card and they hate it they at least pass it along. Hmm …

~ Brigitte

2 thoughts on “ATC #1222 Rag & Bone

Leave a Reply

