ATC #1226 Persephone

Title: Persephone
Size: 2.5″ x 3.5″
Status: Adopted

After the first mythology swap one of my friends suggested that I make a card of Persephone and a few weekends ago I decided to go for it. Her myth is really interesting to me to begin with so it wasn’t hard to be inspired, I wanted to make my Persephone one that was defiantly marching out of the underworld as opposed to being abducted or tricked into eating pomegranate seeds, as delicious as those may be. The part of the myth I connect with is Demeter freezing over the earth and making everyone suffer for what Hades (and arguably Zeus) has done to her daughter. The background is actually part of a winter scene, it’s the photo shoot that the girl in “Snow Geisha” was taken from.

The little boxes that I do so often a kind of a trick to the eye, some parts get rearranged a bit and as the eye jumps around I feel like, in this case, it almost gives it a feeling of movement. Some times when I put together these types of collages there are so many fiddly bits that I have a hard time remembering which end is up or where exactly they go; usually I just wing it, but this time I decided to take a photo with my phone. It was surprisingly helpful. I really need to do a larger one in this style some time soon.

I seriously considered keeping this ATC, but in the end I decided to put it up for grabs. I like it enough that I didn’t want it to go to a random swap partner who might not like it, so it’s on here instead. If you would like to add this collage to you collection just leave a comment or drop me a line and I will send it out to you.

~ Brigitte

PS: Thank you to everyone who gave “Mod Medusa” so much love, you all are awesome and every time I get a new “like” I have to smile!

Leave a Reply

