ATC #1240 Sugar Sugar Honey Sweet

Title: Sugar Sugar Honey Sweet
Size: 2.5″ x 3.5″
Status: Not Available

When I first saw the pastel candy frosted Louis Vuitton advertisements (like the one I used to make “Pretty Princess“) I knew I wanted to make one that incorporated multiple ads. Luckily for me they’ve been popping up in every magazine and there’s quite a variety, so after collecting more than a few and snipping out the sundaes I made this. I actually had to think about it for quite a while, the pastel sweets needed to be the main focus, but they kept getting lost. I had a brainstorm when I found the black and white background image, I realized that it would be a perfect backdrop, but the model’s narrowed eyes and black lipstick were so severe and off-putting that I was instantly seized with the desire to cover them up.

The star hole punch was something that I bought years ago, I used it for this untitled ATC in 2007, but after I moved a few years back I misplaced it. Of course it was driving me nuts not to be able to find it so I went out and bought the exact same one a second time. The stars with the hearts are from my favorite Martha Valentine scrapbooking paper, but all the rest are from LV ads, six of them to be precise. I really wanted the swirled lollipops to be the cheeks and other than that I wanted it to feel overwhelming and chaotic. There’s more to it all than that but that’s all I’m going into at the moment or this would be a very long post! Suffice it to say that I put some really serious thought into some of these.

As I was sitting down to write this I realized that I had surpassed last year’s collage count and all before the end of February. I guess that goes to show when you really focus on something things fall into place. Now if I go a weekend without making a collage it feels wrong, which is great, because I’m never happier than when I’m making things. Thank you again to everyone who leaves comments and “likes” my collage posts, it means a lot to me.

~ Brigitte

Leave a Reply

