ATC #1245 Kelpie

Title: Kelpie
Size: 2.5″ x 3.5″
Status: Not Available

I think I need a new scanner, there are lots of little spots on this one, flecks, they’re bothering me. I’d been meaning to make this collage for a while, I love the kelpie, it’s so dark, even for a folktale, and as soon as I saw the horse in the foreground I knew that’s what I wanted to do with it. In the version of the story I heard the kelpie comes out of the water with a bridle and saddle on, it’s skin cold as ice, and with am always dripping mane. When an unlucky person comes upon the kelpie it appears to be docile, but as soon as they are on the its back they find themselves stuck fast, and the unlucky person is pulled underwater with it to drown and be consumed. Versions of the story vary, but years ago, that’s the one I heard!

I took photos of this one the whole way through so if there’s any interest you can click through the little gallery below where I narrate my process.

~ Brigitte

     

Leave a Reply

