ATC #1246 Turquoise

Title: Turquoise
Size: 2.5″ x 3.5″
Status: Not Available

When I saw the image above in a magazine a few weeks ago I think I may have let out an audible noise, I was shocked by how gorgeous it was. Turns out that it’s the Chen Man photography campaign for her collaboration with MAC cosmetics; a collection which I want almost in its entirety. I had to make a little ATC out of the image so I decided to make it “Turquoise” in the birthstone series. My only gripe is that there were cropping issues in the magazine, which is why the face isn’t in the middle, and if I recall correctly, there was a lot of text to be covered up as well.

Here is the original photo. Stunning! Gorgeous, amazing, breathtaking, am I right? I would buy a print of it in a heart beat, I’ll tell you that much, and I am not easily impressed. Chen Man is a Chinese photographer that I cannot believe I hadn’t heard of sooner, her work stirred up quite a lot of controversy overseas, and it’s exciting to see it getting recognition over here.

Here is a photo from the studio, I added some things in at the end, pieces of the Chen Man photo that were cut off. In the end I’m happy with how it came out. Speaking of controversy, MAC, and China, there has recently been a lot of buzz around the fact that even though MAC touts itself as a “cruelty-free” brand, China requires that all makeup sold there does animal testing, and MAC complies. So they aren’t a truly “cruelty-free” brand after all, and people are feeling misled. Hopefully MAC will take a stand on it, if they’re willing to collaborate with a controversial Chinese photographer maybe they’ll be willing to fight for animal rights there as well. Here’s hoping.

~ Brigitte

Leave a Reply

