Collage #1202 untitled

Title: untitled
Size: 5″ x 7″
Status: Not Available

The second large, actual collage of the year! It’s made out of just two magazine pages, one page from Elle (I think it was February 2012) and one page of Martha Stewart Weddings. The blue borders around the images and the two floral borders on the left and right are from Martha, two sides of the same page, to be precise. Everything else is from Elle; the seashells are soap, and all the rest is Alexander McQueen, j’adore. In retrospect I really should have scanned the page before I started cutting it apart, but it was one of those things where I was trying to work frantically before work, and I get very myopic in those situations.

As you can see from the progress photo, it was quite the flurry of pieces. In the end I’m really happy with how it came out, but I had this moment where I was worried I was just going to somehow drive the whole thing off a cliff. I suppose that’s why it’s untitled, because I was so focused on not ruining it that I didn’t take any time to think about titling it, ha!

Speaking of working frantically on collages before “work” work, I won’t be able to do that anymore. I have started a new, full time job … just like an adult! I’m very excited about it, but that also means no more shifts that start at noon, so no more collage mornings. The figurative price one pays for being able to literally pay the bills. I hope this won’t effect my collage output too much since I will still have nights and weekends to work, but we shall see, I’m not a night person. Wish me luck! Tomorrow I’ll be posting the monthly available ATC roundup.

~ Brigitte

Leave a Reply

