ATC #1258 Blue Topaz

Title: Blue Topaz
Size: 2.5″ x 3.5″
Status: Not Available

“Blue Topaz” is a sort of unofficial member of the birthstone collage series. I was thinking of trying to pass it off as aquamarine, but the stones are definitely topaz, and more than one lapidary enthusiast numbers amongst my friends so I didn’t dare to try. The geisha is the principal actress from “Memoirs of a Geisha” in costume, and the butterflies are by Damien Hirst, specifically “Sympathy in White Major – Absolution II,” which you can view on his website.

The final version varied from the version I had laid out in the studio a tiny bit, but once I got to gluing I felt like it was a little sparse so I added a few more elements from what had been trimmed off. In the end I’m very pleased with how it came out.

~ Brigitte

One thought on “ATC #1258 Blue Topaz

Leave a Reply

