ATC #1260 Erdem

Title: Erdem
Size: 2.5″ x 3.5″
Status: Not Available

The picture in the center of an Erdem gown (2008 collection) was so beautiful and striking that at first I was afraid to cut it out because I didn’t want to accidentally ruin it somehow. I cut it with a blocky border but it looked distracting so I ended up cutting it more with a closer, more detailed border, and I’m so happy that I did. The photo is actually featured heavily in the Victoria and Albert Museum “Ballgowns” exhibit promotional materials, and it’s a show I’d love to go to. It runs through mid-January 2013 so I guess I have some time to plan my trip! I still deeply regret not flying up to New York for the Alexander McQueen exhibit.

Since the gown already had primary yellow and blue together, a color pairing I tend to shy away from, I decided to go ahead and use lapis lazuli and gold as the background. As you can see the studio photo above, I ended up adding more elements to the final collage; parts of the chain background bordered by extra pieces of lapis lazuli.

~ Brigitte

Leave a Reply

