Studio Portrait Friday, July 31st 2015 Edition

Studio Photo July 31st 2015

Time for this week’s round of studio photos. I got super excited about Halloween this week and, if you have a small business you know, now is the time to be making spooky stuff. I decided to do a set of three black and orange Halloween candy cane kokeshi with skull hair. I was trying to make it look like the bangs were little teeth, I hope I succeeded. The stripes on the bodies are surprisingly hard to make perfect.

Studio Photo July 31st 2015

I messed up some kokeshi this week, too, and found inspiration for fixing them in Spectra Vondergeist here. I decided to paint them all black and make them ghostly. In the background you can see my modified Zombie Shake Rochelle Goyle (left) and my original Rochelle (right) that has greasy hair (thanks eBay).


Studio Photo July 31st 2015

I have a set of three strawberry kokeshi dolls I’ll be releasing soon and got the bright idea to cover the inside of the big one with glitter (Martha Stewart Tourmaline, fancy). I mixed glitter glaze with the glitter itself, coated the inside, and then sprinkled more glitter on top. Maximum glitter!

Studio Photo July 31st 2015

This week I also fell in love with this small blue-tailed skink that was chilling in the window. He showed up three different days this week, but seems to have left every time. I was worried he was trapped, then I wanted to force him to be my pet, but I finally decided that he would be happier outside where there are unlimited bugs to eat.

Studio Photo July 31st 2015

My biggest project this week took a couple of days: re-organizing my studio space. Now all of the paints are color coded, the kokeshi have a little organizer, and almost everything is actually put away. I love having a messy desk in theory, but since this desk is in my living room I was getting overwhelmed with clutter. The print above my table is Amy Sol, the calendar is APAK, and the small piece to the left is Rudy Fig. In case you were curious!

Studio Photo July 31st 2015

Many days after I started: Halloween trio (nearly) complete! The heads need to be glued into place and given a coat of gloss varnish and then they’re be totally finished. I tried to give them all more distinct faces, too, which I like. I think the one in the middle is my favorite.

Since it’s August 1st I was thinking of posting monthly goals again like I used to. I’ve been posting daily goals on Twitter, but I haven’t had a perfect day yet. It really does help keep me focused though, so that’s good. I haven’t been active on Twitter in a while and I’m realizing now that I’ve missed it. Regardless, thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

