Studio Portrait Friday, August 14th Edition: Dragon Jewelry, Kokeshi, Peach Hair, and Tiny Bows

Tiny RainBOWs

Tiny RainBOWs

This week’s Studio Portrait Friday is a super-belated edition! I had a feeling that I would have a hard time maintaining work/life balance with school starting up again, and boy was I right. I am willing to fight through it though, making things and this summer as a whole has brought so much joy back into my life, I am not going to give it up. That being said, look at all those bows! I bought a huge lot (300 pieces) of tiny bows off eBay and when they arrived I sorted them into a rainbow. You can see that there are damaged ones with no shimmer on them, and I had to throw about a dozen away, but you get what you pay for. There were a ton of lime green and black with blue shimmer, happily there were also lots of pale pink bows. They will be coming to a kokeshi near you.

Dragon Scales

Dragon Scales

Next up is some new Dragon Scale jewelry. I made prototypes of a bunch of different colorways for the shop: sunset, yellow, pink, milk, and cyan. I need to photograph them once it’s stopped raining every day. Also I’m working on adding a glaze to the top of these, which doesn’t change how they look at all, but will make them even more durable. I have come to the realization that I am not hard enough on jewelry to effectively test the prototypes (though I do). I might be doing a prototype giveaway in the future so that people can test them out for me; everyone wins. If you like this idea I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments.

Lavender Kokeshi, the Before Picture

Lavender Kokeshi, the Before Picture

This past week I also embellished and shipped out these three lovely lavender kokeshi to Shana Logic. Around them you can see all of the embellishments I used to finish them. In the middle is a pile of polymer clay flowers that I cut by hand. On the left are some resin roses I got at Michael’s and have been hoarding for years, and on the right is a mixed lot of pearls that I just bought off of Etsy. My favorite girl is on the left, if you were curious.

Lavender Kokeshi, the After Picture

Lavender Kokeshi, the After Picture

They’re been moved around a bit, but here is the “after” embellishing photo. I kept the one on the right (formerly left, my favorite) relatively simple, and were super elaborate with the other two. I used the polymer clay flowers on all of their cheeks to give them “blush” spots, which I really like.

It's Me

It’s Me

Here’s a rare photo of me. I don’t post photos of myself on the blog much, I admit, but I just had the ends of my hair dyed from green to peach and I was excited. My stylist used a mix of Pravana Too Cute Coral, orange, and pink for the color. I love how subtle it is, but it has faded a lot in the one wash since I took this pic, plus there’s still green bits, and she got bleach on my cardigan. I seriously love my stylist, but I was rushing her, and my hair looks a little wonky as the result. I’m also wearing the prototype of the pastel chainmail shag necklace that Walter made for me. A prettier version (that I’ve never worn so don’t worry) will be up in our shop soon.

Kokeshi Halloween Babies

Kokeshi Halloween Babies

Last but not least, all my Halloween kokeshi including a big head kokeshi are together in the display area. I will probably list the big head kokeshi on Etsy soon, even though I want to keep her for myself, but the Halloween kokeshi are going to Stitch Rock with me. If you want to adopt one beforehand please contact me.

I hope you all liked the super late studio photos this week. I have some posts I’m working on that I hope you will like this current week, fingers crossed I can juggle teaching and handmade this year. Positive vibes, please!

Leave a Reply

