Handmade Halloween 2017: Dead Spider Hands aka Ally Burke

Last year I did a Handmade Halloween post and I really enjoyed it, so I thought I’d do it again this year. This time I’m featuring an artist whose work I’ve been collecting for a few years now and who has a wonderfully creepy vibe: Ally Burke aka Dead Spider Hands.

This spooktacular print of Haunted House ($20) features a sort of Frankenstein’s monster-inspired woman with a ghost filled house in her hair, complete with planchette hair clip. I really enjoy the minimal use of color in this piece, which was from Burke’s Inktober 2016 series. I’m also almost positive that this was inspired by Shirley Jackson’s The Haunting of Hill House, which I just finished reading.

If you’re in the market for original art, Burke has a number of pieces available. Above is Spookyberry Twins ($100) and it’s done in her newer style. Since I’ve collected her work for a few years it’s been really interesting to see how it’s changed, with more detail, color, and shading being added over time. I really like how the black lips are shaded on the left of the two faces.

This Ally Burke Enamel Pin ($10) is a collaboration with Urban Vinyl Daily and features a aqua-haired girl with candy corn horns and orange melting eyes. The packaging leaves much to be desired, but that gets tossed so I’ll let it go. The pin itself is really cool.

I’m a huge sucker for stickers and, even though I still have no idea where to stick them, I keep collecting them. I have this Skeleton Girl Vinyl Sticker ($3) and absolutely love it. The sticker is good handmade quality and there are lots of other stickers to choose from in Burke’s shop. A note though, stickers tend to stay out of stock once they sell, so if you have your eye on one I would snap it up.

Snot Eyes Slime Girl by Ally Burke

Last but not least is an original drawing: Snot Eyes Slime Girl ($35). I own a number of Burke’s drawings and I can guarantee that it will be good quality and more than worth the money. I am absolutely grossed out by this title (I hate snot), but at the same time I love the drawing. The moon detail on the collar and the bow are especially nice.

To find more Ally Burke online, visit the links below. She’s been doing more shows lately, so I think this is definitely an artist to watch. I personally can’t wait to add more of her work to my humble art collection.

Ally Burke Online

Instagram
Shop
Website

Leave a Reply

