Studio Portrait Friday, October 20th Edition

Good morning and welcome to this week’s Studio Portrait Friday! Last week I had photos from the beginning of this new Zombuki Pullip, and she’s coming along nicely this week. I should have finished photos of her up by the end of next week, I’m thinking, if not slightly after.

Here you can see that I’ve added a lot of gold detail to her cheeks, like flower freckles, and the lips are starting to appear. Usually I paint the lips, or at least the shape, way earlier in the faceup process. It was a little strange to wait until so late, actually, and I ended up changing the lip shape after this because I just wasn’t happy with it.

Eye test! I was almost 100% sure that I was going to use these blue Marshmallow Chips from Cool Cat, but when I woke up in the morning I knew they were too much for her soft design. Side note: Cool Cat has made their Pullip chips smaller (too small imho), and so you’ll need to paint the edges of the eye mech to compensate.

These are the eye chips I decided to go with. They’re still Cool Cat Marshmallow Chips, but the mint green color. I think these match her much better. These chips remind me of the Brainworm chips back in the day, which helped to inspired my Zombuki dolls. I honestly thought I was just going to make 1 doll for each of the chips in the milky chip series and that would be it. 10 years and almost 80 dolls later, here we are! Oh, life.

Last photo of the week! Her lips are, yes, going to change again. I love the raspberry color here, but this is a darker base layer that will have a lighter top layer soon. I also added super dainty, white eyelashes that you can see if you look closely. I feel like such a dork saying it, but I love this doll so much!

I hope you enjoyed this week’s studio photos and have a great weekend!

~ Brigitte

Leave a Reply

